Posted by: heavypine | November 30, 2011

A movement against the government…

I would like to write about the book Among the Hidden.

The main character, Luke, lives with his parents, and his two older brothers. Ever since he was born, he has never gone to school. He has never had any birthday parties, or gone to friend’s house to play. As a matter of fact, he never had a friend.

From the paranoia of food shortage, the government has banned families to have more than two children. Luke is one of the shadow children, who does not exist and are not supposed to exist. He has spent his whole life hiding.

One day from his house’s window, he spots a girl’s face on the window of the house where he knew that family already has two children. Luke risks everything, and steps out of his house, and meets the girl. There, he meets Jen, a third children just like Luke himself.

Ever since that day, he visits Jen’s house. There Luke learns that Jen is planning to make a movement against the government. Jen asks Luke strongly to join her. Now, he has to decide if he is to get involved in her dangerous plan or not.

I first met this book when I was living in the United States. In the school I was studying, the librarian of the school library introduced new books in class. I didn’t read a lot when I was living abroad, but ever since I read the book, I became interested in the story. I recommend this book to anyone who likes modern fiction. Later, I have learned that this book is a series, and I was able to read all the books in the series. The second book is Among the Imposters.

Leave a Reply

Categories

