Posted by: yukihira0213 | November 28, 2011

How to be cool

The book I want to introduce is a book called Be More Chill by Ned Vizzini. This is a book that I read over summer vacation, and my teacher recommended it to me.

This book is about a boy called Jeremy. He is a boy that doesn’t stand out in school, and not popular between the girls. But he wants to be cool, and be popular between the girls. One day he hears about a computer called “squip”. This is a pill sized computer that you take down and stays in your head, and communicates with your brain. The “squip” tells you what say, act, and who to talk with to be cool and successful person. Later in the story the squip doesn’t go out good and eventually he gets pressured by the squip and can`t make his own decisions by himself anymore. Then he goes into doing drugs, sex, and violence.

I would recommend this book to anyone, because it is science fiction and comedy so it’s a fun read, but the descriptions about the drugs felt a little shocking to me.

From reading this book I thought that you need to make good decisions by yourself, because when we become adults you won’t have anyone like your parents to make choices for you. I also thought that effort is important. I the story the squip tells Jeremy what to do to be a successful person and popular in school. And I thought that you have to try hard by yourself to get good grades and to get a good reputation from the girls.

Leave a Reply

Categories

