Posted by: Yuko Hirukawa | November 28, 2011

A multi-genre, coming-of-age, classic

Do you hate classics? Do you hate books that teachers make you read in school? Are you interested in life during the time of Great Depression and racism in the United States? If any of these apply to you, To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. The symbolism and messages lying beneath the book made me realize my stereotype of classics being boring was totally wrong. Many American students read this in high school and I have so myself my freshman year.

This book takes place during the span of three years.  The Finch family consists of Scout, the somewhat annoying, younger sister and Jem, the mature, older brother, and Atticus, the father who is also a lawyer. They live in Maycomb County, Alabama, located in the southern part of the US. This quiet and peaceful society has one dark side to it, racism. From African Americans to Boo Radley, a mysterious neighbor of the Finches, the family and the society itself must face different forms of racism throughout the book.

I would highly recommend this book if you despise classics, because that’s how I was when I first started reading this. I have personally read it twice already but every time I read it, I always find something new that I couldn’t catch last time. The reading level is high but definitely manageable once you’re into it. People either love it or hate it, so why not take a chance and try this multi-genre classic; from mystery to even romance.

Leave a Reply

Categories

