Posted by: yellowsaru | November 25, 2011

Racism and Accusations

To Kill a Mockingbird

I would like to introduce a book called To Kill a Mockingbird. I read this book in the class when I was back in Canada. First I didn’t want to read this book, because I thought it is boring. However after I started reading this book, I couldn’t stop reading. I didn’t like reading so I never got into books, especially English books, but I read ahead of the class and kept reading.

There are some parts that are boring. I think the beginning and the ending were very exciting but I thought it was kind of hard to read the middle. There is black guy names Tom. He is a very nice man who works really hard and cares about other people. One day he was accused by a guy, even though he hasn’t done anything bad. Then Atticus, the father of the main characters (Jem and Scout), who is a lawyer tries to prove that Tom is innocent. In the trial Tom had the advantages, because of Atticus. However Tom loses the trial just because he is black. Tom was sent to jail and when Tom tries to escape from jail, he got shot and he dies. After that happening, the guy who accused Tom tries to kill Jem and Scout, but someone else kills him. This books shows the racism, and how bad people get punished at the end.

Leave a Reply

Categories

