Posted by: riana28 | February 17, 2011

Dead Person Found Alive

 

Until recently, I had been a non-reader my whole life. In fact, I would only read books that were distributed in English classes such as the Catcher in the Rye, Romeo & Juliet, Wuthering Heights, and others. However, after reading Tell No One written by Harlan Coben, I could not believe myself. I not only started reading on my own, but started realizing how reading can bring excitement to life. In this novel, Coben uses black humor to entertain the reader and uses familiar settings like New York City. The setting is personally familiar since I lived in a suburb close to the city for nine years.

The book starts out where the main character, David Beck and his wife Elizabeth Beck are newly married and decides to go for a night swim in the lake David’s parents own. As the two are enjoying their time there, all of a sudden he hears Elizabeth’s scream. Immediately, David starts running to save her only to find out that he himself got hit by a baseball bat by someone instead and end up in the hospital. Later, he finds out that there was a trademark left on Elizabeth’s body that suggested the serial killer, KillRoy murdered her.

After eight years, David unexpectedly receive an e-mail from an unknown sender with codes written on it which only he and Elizabeth would know. This makes him question furthermore as to whether she is alive or not. At the same time when David starts searching for his beloved wife, the police suspects David as the killer since he was the last one to see her before her death. As the story continues on, David finds out what really happened at the day of the murder and to his wife.

Responses

  1. I’ve been thinking about reading this book, and seeing how deeply you’ve been affected by it, I probably will. I used to enjoy crime/mystery novels and think this would be a good chance to start reading them again. 🙂

  2. I read this book recently and I just couldn’t stop reading it. This could arguably be my favorite book, the best book that I have read in my life. I liked the idea of how Elizabeth starts off not existing, but as the story goes on the mysteries behind her start to unravel. You can almost never predict what will happen next, so I had to keep turning the pages, for hours at a time even! This may have been the first book that I actually kept reading not because I had to, but because I wanted to. If you liked this book, I would highly recommend Gone For Good, which is also by Coben.

  3. Hey!
    You know, I didn`t read books until recently, like you. I started to read a trilogy by a Swedish author and it amazed me. It was also a mystery type of book. and when I saw your post, I just couldn`t not comment on this page. I really like your description and it made me wanna read Tell No One.

  4. I can see why you would want to keep reading this book. There seems to be a mystery or a `missing piece from the puzzle` everytime. I myself like reading mystery books, so I’d like to try this book out sometime!

  5. I am quite like you, and do not read books. I was finding a book that might interest me, and finding out that you are also like me, I thought I might like reading it too.The structure of the story is quite interesting and I would like to know why and how the woman was killed.

  6. The book seems interesting!
    I like reading mystery/thriller books, but I’ve never had an opportunity to read books by Harlan Coben.
    I want to try this one out.

  7. Hello. I just read your entry and I am interested in reading this book. I am like you and don’t ever read a book on my own. But this book seems different from other normal books. It looks pretty complicated and dark but seems worth reading. I never read mystery book since it seems difficult, but is it an easy read for reader like me? I will try to find and read this book if I ever have a chance.

  8. I have no idea where it was, but I have heard of the title of this book before. Therefore I was wondering what kind of story the book Tell no One which has such a thrilling name might be. By reading your recommendation, I still cannot figure out what is going to happen in the end, but I became even more interested in the hidden secrets of Tell no One.

    Recently, I have been reading nonfiction books about Africa, or memoirs, and I have been enjoying them but I started to like mystery book since I read the book called The Last Child by John Hart. I am not sure if you have read this book yet, but it is a fast-paced, easy-to-read and exciting book.
    Please try it!

    I think I will start to look for Tell No One.
    Thank you for the great recommendation!

  9. Since it’s Halloween, I’d like to read a mystery book. This book is very mysterious and it sounds interesting. I’ve actually never read a mystery book before, so I’d like to try it. I also don’t like to read so I’m hoping that this book will change my way of thinking about books.
    I want to know what happened to the wife. I think that it would be really creepy to receive an e-mail from a person who you thought was dead.

  10. Wow, I really loved your comment. What you did to summarize/introduce the book was great and cliff-hanging, almost like something you would find on the back of a book cover.
    Also, I think its cool how you started your blog post with a hook by adding your own personal story to it, because that’s what grabbed my attention in the first place! And I’m glad it did, because now I definately want to read “Tell No One” after reading what you wrote about it!

  11. Hello.
    After reading this blog entry I feel like I would like to read this book Tell No One.
    I myself like to read mystery books, and I have a feeling that I would like it. From the blog entry, it says that it has been eight years since the crime has happened. I would like to read the scene where the police fight to find evidence about the case that happened a few years ago. I look forward to reading this book.


Leave a Reply

Categories

