Posted by: The Mad Hatter | February 7, 2011

Angels and Demons

Tired of long and dull books? Have you ever wished that you could, for once, read a book and truly enjoy it? If you are looking for an exciting, fast-paced, rollercoaster-ride, Angels and Demons is the book for you! hahahahaha

Dan Brown’s prequel to the bestselling Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons is a fast paced and exciting book. With the protagonist, Robert Langdon, running around the city of Rome in search of the foul kidnapper of the four Cardinals, the reader is taken on a rollercoaster ride. So many twists and turns are spread across the whole book, making it impossible for the reader to put the book down.

Not only the pace of the book, but the scenery of Rome, enriched with detailed facts, pulls you into the story. You feel like you are the one dashing across St. Peter’s Square or creeping though the secret underground route of the Vatican. The readers are able to gain a sense of what the city of Rome is like, which is an attractive bonus!

Some of you having doubts about this book, if it will be too hard, historically, to catch up on the plot, don’t worry! The author prepares another character that has little knowledge in Langdon’s area of expertise to make her ask the questions that you and all the rest of the people have in mind. He makes sure that Langdon presents you with an easy background of the historical stuff, whether it’s for a building, a sculpture, a fountain, or an event.

So you get a pretty solid idea of what’s going on in the book. You know what’s this ancient organization doing to this secret society and what’s this cardinal have against this young priest, etc. Join in with the multiple characters to solve the mystery!

A scene from the movie

A truly exhilirating rollercoster ride.

Responses

  1. This book review made me want to read Angles and Demons so bad!
    I have heard of the title from the movie but never had a chance to watch it.
    I would love to read it and compare it with the movie.

  2. This book was very easy to read. Proffesor Langdon and Vittoria are solving the kidnapping and assassination of four Cardinals. Every assassin leaves hints to the next assassin and the murder is also followed by time. While reading this book I forgot about having dinner and couldn’t even go to sleep until a chapter ended!

    I thought the seals that were pressed on each Cardinal were very interesting. Every seal had a specific meaning in the story and revealed something about the assassin and the criminals’ motive.

    As you read this book, every detail of the story is built up like a puzzle. When the last piece finally slipped into place, I had a inspirational feeling. All the pieces fit perfectly and you don’t want to put the book down until you finish the story. But I don’t think the matching up of Professor Langdon and Vittora is particularly good.

    I think this book will make you understand Rome more.

  3. I read this book before and I found it to be a page-turner. I also thought this book was a fast-paced, exciting book to read. After reading this book, I started to read Dan Brown’s other books; they were all as exhilirating as Angels and Demons. I completely agree with you in recommending this to people who want fast-paced books; this was the first book I didn’t put down and I finished within a day. I feel happy that other people like this book and hope other people read this also. If you haven’t read his other books, I recommend you to read them!

  4. This book Angels and Demons was one of the books that I enjoyed reading, but it was really challenging for me. The vocabulary was hard and the level was kind of hard. However, it was really enjoyable. I first saw the movie then I read the book. The movie and the book were a little bit different. The main difference is that the movie is less detailed than the book. I also like how they used Rome as the setting because it matches the title. But in the movie it was hard to understand the flow of the story.

  5. After I read the description, I was inspired to read this book. I tried to read one of Dan Brown’s books, ‘Da Vinci Code’ about two years ago, but it was way too hard for me. I tried reading that same book this year, and I could understand it but the book was too long and boring. This book ‘Angels and Demons’ seems very interesting and a book for me. I don’t mind long books, but I just get stressed out when the story is very slow, or when I can’t get a clear image of the scenery.
    Your expression of “rollercoster ride” was very unique. A long and slow book really has no twists and turns. Even when it does, it’s really hard to understand. When I read fast books like ‘Holes’ by Louis Sachar, I know what you mean by “taken on a rollercoaster ride” and I can’t put down the book.

    I would really like to read this book. Thank you for posting this description.

  6. I have read The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown and really enjoyed the plot, theme and quality. In The Da Vinci Code topics like “phi” and other scientific or mathematical topics came up a lot, but it looks as though in this book the main topic that comes up a lot is historical things. I’m interested in European history, so I think I’ll enjoy this book.
    I know about Dan Brown’s superior techniques of describing difficult things so easily, and I am pretty sure that in this book he also does that. Reading your review, I thought the plot also looks very interesting. It seems that the setting is the same one as in Da Vinci Code, a very interesting city, Rome.
    I was moved by your sentence, “The reader is taken on a roller-coaster ride.” I like the writing style of Dan Brown, so if you say so, I want to try reading it!

  7. My images of Dan Brown’s books are difficult, historical, etc. A book not easy to understand if you don’t know the plot and history. I have that image from _Da Vinci Code_ also written by Dan Brown, because I had a hard time reading just one chapter. After reading this entry explaining it is a fast pace book, and is easily read, I might as well try reading it. I am more interested in books that are realistic, and has well explained plot, for I do not have great imagination within myself. I noticed this might have been made to a movie, so if I read the book and liked it, I’ll try to watch the movie also.


Leave a Reply

Categories

