Posted by: naru3 | February 4, 2011

To Become a New You

  Do you need a change in your life or a hand to help you start new things? Believe it or not,a book titled The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things can teach you how.

  Virginia Shereves is a plump, dirty blonde, non athletic, geeky teenager who craves junk food, and obeys the “Fat Girl Code of Conduct” which she made for herself. Besides the girl, her family is beautifully perfect, fluent in French and tremendously talented with anything… Until a phone call changes everything.

  What I learned from this exciting, funny book is that if you are determined to do something, and if you set your mind to it, anything is possible. Just because of how you look or what you like shouldn’t stop you from trying and working hard. Being shut in your own little world is miserably wrong, and opening a new door may be difficult, but it’s worth the shot.

  This book can teach so many important lessons, and because it’s so humorous and funny, it’s impossible to put down the book. After reading it, I was surprised to find myself eager to try more new things.

  I recommend this book to everyone, especially people who are trying to start something, or making an effort to overcome a challenge.





Responses

  1. Sounds really interesting! Makes me wanna read it! (:

  2. This book is just what I was looking for!
    I am interested in books that can teach us how to challenge new things and be positive about ourselves.

  3. This book sounds interesting!
    I sometimes think about myself.
    When I wanted to do something, I gave it all up because I thought that I could not do it.
    But my attitude might change by reading this book, so I am looking forward to reading this book and seeing what happens in it.

  4. I would like to read this book “The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things” by Carolyn Mackler because I like books that motivate me and teach me important lessons. Most people are afraid of starting new things and I think I’m one of them. However, I feel that the main character, Virginia, who’s in a hard situation, will give me courage to open the door to a new world. Also, I would like to read this book because it includes lots of jokes. Funny jokes will stop me from putting it down. Lastly, this book must interest me since the main character and I are both teenaged girls.

  5. Hello, I was really interested in how you recommended this book!
    I think being left out in a family and having complexity in youself is a hard time.
    I thought of reading this book after I read your recommendation. It seems happy and funny but also you will be able to learn something from the story.


Leave a Reply

Categories

