Posted by: pinkyyheartyy | February 4, 2011

Shiver

 

For People Who DON’T Like Reading

  

When I was looking for a book to read, my friend recommended me a book. Just by looking at the title, I had no idea what the book was about, but my friend was so sure that I would like it so I decided to read it. The book, Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater, is a love story about a girl and a werewolf. The werewolves can only be in their human form for the summer once they’re bitten, and they only have about 15 years of switching until they just become a wolf forever. The werewolf, Sam, knows that the summer he meets Grace is his last summer and he risks his life to stay with her.

 

Once I started reading the book, I was drawn into it right away. I’ve always been bad at concentrating for a long time but I couldn’t stop wondering what’s going to happen next, and it was really hard for me to put the book down. It’s not just a love story, but also a thriller with different characters tied together in one truth. There’s a sequel called Linger and the third one of the series is coming out this summer. Shiver is a must read book especially for people who don’t really like reading, but of course for people who love reading as well.

 

Responses

  1. SHIVER sounds like a really good book and by reading your blog, I am interested in reading it. Before, when I saw SHIVER on the bookshelf, I had no clue about what it is about and so didn’t feel like trying as it seemed to be a little scary by the look of the cover, but I would really like to read it now.

  2. I just finished reading this book a few days ago and recommend trying this book out to everyone as well! This story is very interesting in how it is told from the points of view of two different people. I was moved by how their love for each other was very deep, even though they were two different creatures. Reading this story will encourage us to realize how precious it is to believe and have hope. I am excited to read the sequel!

  3. This book sounds very exciting. I would like to read it. The title of the book and the cover made me want to read this book. If I have a time I would like to read this book.

  4. Thank you very much for your lovely book report! The book cover does make me wonder what the story is like, and yes, you have made me want to read the book! I am not a person who loves books more than anything else, so when you mentioned about that the book is for people who don’t really like reading, I thought I want to read it too. I have always thought that fiction books are only made up stories, so I was thinking it was not as good as non fiction books, but this time, I am going to try a fiction book. Thank you very much.

  5. Hi pinkyyheartyy. This book was introduced in my English class once and hearing that it is a romance book about werewolves, I was interested in it. Now that I have read your post about this book, I would really like to read this book.
    Recently, I finished reading the _Twilight_ series by Stephenie Meyer and I enjoyed reading those a lot. After reading the series, I didn’t know what to read and I was looking for a good romance book. From your post, this book seems similar to the series, therefore I am pretty sure that I will enjoy this book as well.

  6. This book must be a very interesting book. I was looking for a love story to read, and at the same time my eyes caught the sentence, ” For People Who Don’t Like Reading.” Personally, I don’t get interested in a love story in which the characters could not be exist in real life. However, if you became a person who likes to read through this book, then I think this will be a great chance for me to become one, too. I am looking forward to reading this book when I finish reading the book I’m reading now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

