Posted by: cococheer | February 2, 2011

Deserves to be Needed, Not Just to be a Keeper

 

                                                                                                            

My Sister’s Keeper is arguably one of Jodi Picoult’s best books. Even if you are new to her writings, it is a good place to start. This was made into a movie in June 2009, and it is definitely the most well known book. Jodi Picoult’s books follow a certain formula. Each chapters are told from different characters, different point of views, tragedies and family dramas. My Sister’s Keeper is a page turner so you would not want to put the book down.

 The story is about a girl who sues her parents to make rights to her own body and medical decisions. Anna was conceived after her older sister who was diagnosed with leukemia, which Anna was very special. She was special because Anna was conceived from her genetic make-up in order to save her older sister Kate. She spends her lifetime a lot in a hospital to donate blood, bone marrow and whatever else her sister needs transplant. Except, Anna did not want to give her sister a kidney. Anna refuses and Kate dies from leukemia.

              Every now and then you read a book that really gets you deep down to the core and leaves you thinking about it long after you have finished reading it. My Sister’s Keeper is definitely one of those books.

Responses

  1. I read this book in the last semester and it made me think about the meaning of saving someone who you love. I enjoyed reading a story told from different perspectives, and I was very surprised at the ending.
    I thought Sara was an interesting character, because she was in a very difficult situation and it made me wonder what it will be like to have my own child. I think I might have a different impression if I read this again when I become an adult. This book also made me want to read another book by Jodi Picoult!

    • You might like Nineteen Minutes, her book about a high school shooting. I really enjoyed her book about a mysterious death on an Amish farm, but I cannot remember the title right now. Both are in the CC. Enjoy!

  2. Though I have watched the movie of this book, I have never read this. It was a great movie, so the book must be good too. I heard that the ending was different from the movie. From reading your entry I started to feel like reading this book.


Leave a Reply

Categories

