Posted by: bananna110 | February 2, 2011

A New Beginning

 

              Have you ever felt like you needed someone to talk to? Well, Melinda didn’t. 

                I just recently finished a book named SPEAK by Laurie Halse Anderson. I actually enjoyed reading this book, because at first I really didn’t know what was going on with the main character (Melinda), and why she was being neglected by her friends; or actually, her “used-to-be” friends. But as I kept reading the book, I found it very easy to get into it. And because the author explains little by little what happened on the life-changing night it made it hard for me to put the book down.

 

                                  
 

               After reading this book, I had a whole new perspective about everybody at school. Melinda had so many secrets that she couldn’t tell anybody. She had nobody to speak to or anybody by her side that would trust her words. I really thought that I should look at each person for who they are, and not what people say about them.

 

Responses

  1. Having a different point of view is a important thing for us in order to know how others feel. 🙂 Yes. I like it!

  2. I actually had a time recently to pick up this book, but decided not to read it because the covered looked scary….
    Reading your summary made me think that maybe there is a meaning to the scary cover and that it might be better than I am thinking.
    Being yourself is difficult at times, but I think this book could teach a lot of lessons to us.

  3. This book sounds very intersting to me because of the way you wrote your entry. I can see that this book is about relationships between teenagers in high school and that such relationships are not an easy thing these days. I felt that school should be a place where every student is able to freely talk and can easily communicate with others. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

