Posted by: kyoheik11 | February 1, 2011

Innocence VS Savagery

As a class assignment in 9th grade, I read the book The Lord of the Flies. It seems nothing more than an easy adventure book, but the message behind the story is much more complex. During some war, a plane crashes on a desert island leaving a group of British boys stranded. At first, they decide to live by building an ordered civilization. They elect a boy named Ralph as their leader and set up rules that everyone must follow. But after a while, several boys start to engage themselves in hunting pigs that are on the island. They begin to ignore the rules and eventually break away from Ralph to form a separate group. Things come to worst when the pig hunt goes as far as to a human hunt and Ralph’s life is at stake. At last, the chaos causes fire on the island and… well read for yourself to find out what happens to the boys in the end.

The big message and question by the author William Golding is simply “true human nature”. The two competing human instincts, the instinct to live by rule and the instinct to live by one’s immediate desires cause numerous problems in the story. The civilized and innocent boys eventually release their savagery, which was suppressed by the rules of the world, killing pigs and humans on the island. It is hard to believe that all humans have this savagery within them, but after reading the book, it seemed very much true.

This book is one that truly inspired me and made me think deeply about humans in general. From what I explained, it may seem like a difficult book, but the reading level itself is not too hard. William Golding later won the Novel Prize in Literature, which further guarantees the quality of this novel. Even if you are not interested in human nature, I still recommend this book to anyone who wants to read an extremely well thought out book. You will definitely not regret it.

Responses

  1. Reading this blog it really made me wonder what real human nature is. When you are excluded from society, your true self shows up. Thank you for this wonderful blog entry and I am looking forward to more of your blog entries ❤

  2. Sounds likes a interesting story. The setting of the book intrigues me.

  3. Reading your blog entry, this book sounds really worth reading, because I love books which have messages and meaning and I love thinking philosophically. Human nature is complicated and I think a book based on this topic has realism as well as a sense of closeness.

  4. This was one of the books I read in my old school. However, we did not go that much in depth, and I was just reading it as an easy adventure book as it is mentioned in the beginning of this entry. But by reading this entry, I learned the big message of the book.

  5. I still remember the time when I first read this book in middle school.
    The story was pretty shocking but I personally enjoyed it intense mood that the unique characters created in it.
    I beleive that savegery comes out when people are in an extreme situation. It also made me think how people can easily become a “broken person”. Human beings are weak; they can’t live alone. They have to be in some kind of civilized situation. This book will definitely make readers think deeply about the meaning of true human nature.

  6. This blog made me want to read this book. I always like something with adventure, fantasy, and mystery. I also like more action. It was talking about a plane crashing on a desert island and British boys being trapped inside. Just by reading this, I thought it was a survival series. But instead, it was an adventure book with ton of messages for its readers.
    It said at the end, those trapped British boys kill each other, pigs, and other living organisms to survive. I read The Hunger Games before and I loved it. I think my type of books must have some killing in them.
    If I can find this book somewhere, and was told to read this book, I would definitely try to read this book.

    • There are many, many violent books with killing in them being published recently that sell very well, so you are not alone in your preferences!
      This book is in the C.C.!

  7. I was also assigned this book from school in eighth grade.
    I was impressed when I had read this book because boys even younger than me were having a organized civilization at first. But then I was even more shocked when I found out that they grew into barbaric guys.
    I didn’t enjoy this book as an eighth grader, but if I read it now, I might enjoy it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

