Posted by: chika0422 | January 31, 2011

A Way of Facing Death

Imagine that you have just months to live. What would you feel about it? What would you do to overcome the reality?

This is the situation of what the main character in the book Before I Die is facing.

As you can see from this straight forward title, Tessa’s remained life is not so long. To cope with the death that is coming soon, Tessa makes a list of things she wants to do before she dies. Tessa’s list is full of things that many teens get interested in, like drugs and crimes. Therefore, the book is suitable for people like our age.

Someday, we will all die. However, the image of dying is not vivid yet. Jenny Downham, a British novelist, describes Tessa’s feeling of living and dying in moment-to-moment way. Therefore; there are many facts that we can gain from the book, especially about facing death. Not only the story, but also Jenny Downham’s writing style makes the story more special.

Each of her lists has meaningful messages. Tessa’s action will definitely give readers courage, the importance of being positive, and the preciousness of life. This book is in the C.C., so please try it!!     

 

Responses

  1. This book sounds interesting! I like this kind of book that makes readers think about the preciousness of life.
    Have you read If I Stay by Gayle Forman? It is also about facing death, and I really enjoyed it even though I am bad at concentrating while reading English books. You may also enjoy this book.
    I have heard the book title before, but I didn’t know that this book was in the C.C. I’ll try this book after I finish the book that I’m reading now.
    Thank you for a great recommendation!

  2. I really want to read this book though it sounds sad. I want to know what she wrote on the list of the things she wants to do.This book reminds me of the book _Deadline_ by Chris Crutcher. I read it for my English class this year. It’s about a boy who has a disease. In the beginning, he is told that he only has one year to live. He is also a teenager. You’ll have to read it to find out how it ends, but it was a good book. He was always trying new things.
    My image of dyig is not vivid at all, but you wrote that this book would give the readers courage and make them realize the importance of being positive, so I’m definitely going to read it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

